VC & InvestingAugust 13, 2026·12 min read··Last updated: 2026-09-02

RVII vs RVI — Robinhood Ventures Fund II Guide

RVII is Robinhood's second retail venture fund — an NYSE-listed closed-end fund built around roughly 80 Y Combinator-linked startups instead of RVI's concentrated Databricks/OpenAI bets. This is the living rundown of every confirmed fact, everything still undisclosed, and the Fund I premium lesson that should shape how you approach it.

TC
Trace Cohen
Founder, Value Add Holdings LLC · 3x founder (BrandYourself, Launch.it, SPOT) · 65+ investments · Based in Boca Raton, FL
65+Investments3xFounder$200M+Funds Tracked

Quick Answer

RVII priced at $25/share and began trading on the NYSE August 13, 2026, raising $200M for a $225.5M fund. It opened at $22.50, a discount to IPO price, and holds 80 Y Combinator-linked companies near-equally weighted (Tasklet largest at 4.50%), 64% in tech, at a 4.18% expense ratio. NAV remains undisclosed. RVI ran to a ~90% NAV premium by May before round-tripping back near $25 by July.

Robinhood Ventures Fund II — ticker RVII — priced at $25 a share and began trading on the NYSE on August 13, 2026, holding 80 Y Combinator-connected startups behind a 2-and-20 fee structure. It opened its first session at $22.50, a discount to that IPO price. We've already broken down all 80 companies, position by position, on our interactive RVII dashboard. What's still not disclosed matters just as much: no NAV, no distribution policy. This page tracks both columns — and it gets updated as details drop.

We've covered Robinhood's first venture fund since it listed in March — the holdings, the NAV math, and above all the premium that ran to ~90% and then collapsed. Fund II is a genuinely different product wearing the same wrapper, and the single most useful thing you can do before buying it is understand what happened to Fund I. That story is below, with real prices.

Aug 13, 2026
NYSE Debut
$22.50
discount to $25 IPO price
First-Day Open
80
YC-linked, early/growth stage
Portfolio Companies
4.18%
2.00% base + 20% incentive fee
Est. Total Expenses

Figures from Robinhood's August 3, 2026 announcement and Form N-2 registration statement, as reported by GlobeNewswire, StreetInsider, and TechTimes.

Stock exchange trading floor imagery representing Robinhood Ventures Fund II's NYSE listing

What Is Robinhood Ventures Fund II?

RVII is a closed-end business development company registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940 — the same legal wrapper as RVI, and the only structure the SEC permits for a retail-accessible fund holding mostly illiquid private securities. Robinhood announced it August 3, 2026, filed a Form N-2 to offer 8 million common shares, and ran a share-request window for Robinhood Financial customers and TradePMR Fusion advisers that closed August 12 — one day before the NYSE debut. The IPO priced at $25/share on August 13, raising $200 million toward a $225.5 million total fund, and closed August 14.

The mandate is what makes it interesting: instead of chasing the biggest names in the late-stage private market, RVII invests in a diversified portfolio of 80 early-stage companies that are current or former Y Combinator participants, or whose founder or co-founder came through the accelerator. It's closer to buying a slice of YC's pipeline than to buying a stake in any single marquee company — and it reportedly layers leverage on top, amplifying whatever that basket does in both directions.

Confirmed Facts vs. What's Still Undisclosed

Here is every material fact about RVII, labeled honestly. "Confirmed" means it comes from Robinhood's announcement, the registration statement, or the completed IPO itself; "expected" means an estimate still pending actual reporting; "not disclosed" means exactly that — and we'll fill those rows in as the filings land.

DetailWhat We KnowStatus
Ticker / exchangeRVII on the NYSEConfirmed
First trading dayAugust 13, 2026Confirmed
IPO price / first-day open$25.00/share priced; opened at $22.50Confirmed
StructureClosed-end BDC (1940 Act)Confirmed
Shares offered / fund size8M shares, $225.5M total fundConfirmed
Mandate80 early-stage companies, 100% YC-connectedConfirmed
Largest positionTasklet — 4.50% (only overweight)Confirmed
Standard weight~1.12% each (78 of 80 companies)Confirmed
Cash & equivalents7.39% (vs Fund I's 19.78%)Confirmed
Top sectorTechnology — 64.31% across 55 companiesConfirmed
Base management fee2.00% of net assetsConfirmed
Incentive fee20% of realized capital gainsConfirmed
Est. total annual expenses~4.18% (per TechTimes' N-2 review)Expected
LeverageReportedly ~67% additional exposure on equityReported, unconfirmed
NAV at listingNot disclosed
Distribution / dividend policyNot disclosed

Sources: Robinhood August 3, 2026 announcement (GlobeNewswire), StreetInsider, TechTimes review of the Form N-2, and our own filing analysis on the RVII dashboard. Rows marked "not disclosed" will be updated as filings publish.

What RVII Holds: 80 Companies, Near-Equal Weights, 100% YC

We went through the disclosed portfolio company by company — the full interactive breakdown of all 80 names, with descriptions, lives on our RVII dashboard. The headline findings: every single holding passes the YC filter (current YC company or YC-alum founder), and the weighting is almost mechanical. 78 of the 80 companies sit at a standard ~1.12% weight. The only overweight is Tasklet, a cloud agent OS, at 4.50%; the only underweight is Luel at 0.45%. Cash and equivalents are 7.39% — well below Fund I's 19.78% cash drag.

By sector, this is overwhelmingly a technology fund: 64.31% of the portfolio across 55 companies. Industrials (8.96%, including defense names like Tenet Industries' strike drones and Apollo Atomics' compact nuclear reactors) come second, then financial services (7.84%), healthcare (6.72%, including CellType's AI drug discovery), consumer cyclical, energy, and communications. The near-equal weighting is the tell for how to think about this fund: nobody is picking winners here. It's a systematic bet that YC's ~1.5% acceptance rate is itself the selection mechanism — a venture index fund on the accelerator's pipeline, not a portfolio manager's conviction list.

64.31%

Technology

55 companies

8.96%

Industrials

8 companies

7.84%

Financial Services

7 companies

6.72%

Healthcare

6 companies

7.39%

Cash

vs 19.78% in Fund I

2.24%

Consumer Cyclical

2 companies

1.12%

Energy

1 company

1.12%

Communications

1 company

Full interactive breakdown of all 80 companies →

How RVII Differs From RVI

Same wrapper, same $25 sticker, nearly opposite bet. RVI concentrated its book in a handful of late-stage names — Databricks, OpenAI and Stripe lead the June 30, 2026 disclosure — and SpaceX went public in 2026, converting part of the fund into a high-fee wrapper around increasingly buyable stocks. Since that disclosure, RVI's two largest named positions have both repriced higher in private markets: Databricks closed a $5B round at a $190B valuation on August 13, and OpenAI's private valuation moved to $852B after an August tender offer — developments RVI's disclosed weights don't yet reflect. RVII spreads capital across 80 companies that are years from any IPO, which changes almost every property of the investment:

Concentration → Diversification

A single SpaceX earnings surprise moves RVI's NAV materially. In RVII, no single startup is likely to matter much — you're betting on the YC pipeline's aggregate hit rate, not on any one company's outcome.

Late-stage → Early-stage

RVI's holdings were IPO-ready mega-caps with real secondary-market price discovery. RVII's early-stage positions get marked off far thinner data — meaning NAV is more of an estimate, and stays that way longer.

~2.5% → ~4.18% expenses

Identical 2% headline fee, but RVII adds a 20% incentive fee on realized gains plus a smaller expected asset base spreading fixed costs — pushing estimated total expenses to nearly double RVI's.

Scarcity thesis → Pipeline thesis

RVI's premium was built on scarcity: the only liquid way to own SpaceX and OpenAI. That thesis had an expiration date, and it expired. RVII's thesis — access to YC's deal flow — doesn't expire the same way, but it also lacks the marquee names that made retail chase RVI to $57.

For the deeper side-by-side — fee tables, share counts, stage focus — see our full RVII vs RVI breakdown and our Pulse deep-dive on the RVII IPO published when the fund was announced.

The RVI Lesson: A 90% Premium, Round-Tripped in Ten Weeks

If you read one section on this page before buying RVII, make it this one. RVI listed March 6, 2026 at $25.00 against a $24.70 NAV — essentially fair value, and has since traded above it, roughly 90%+ above the last reported NAV. Buyers at the top were paying almost $1.90 for every $1.00 of underlying private holdings, on the theory that being the only liquid path to SpaceX and OpenAI justified it.

Then the scarcity died on schedule. SpaceX listed on Nasdaq June 12 — and once the market could buy RVI's biggest holding directly, the premium unwound week after week: $35 by mid-June, $26 by mid-July, and $24.81 by the end of July, back below the March listing price. Anyone who bought the May peak was down more than 50% while the underlying portfolio was, if anything, worth more after its top holding's IPO. The bounce to $28.64 by August 12 came only after Robinhood announced RVII, and by August 27 it had settled back to $27.77 — a reminder that these funds trade on narrative as much as NAV.

The mechanism is structural, not a fluke. Closed-end funds have a fixed share count and no arbitrage keeping price near NAV, so the price is purely what the marginal retail buyer will pay. When enthusiasm exceeds float, you get 90% premiums; when the story fades, you get NAV or below — the median closed-end fund trades at a discount. We documented this dynamic in real time across the premium explainer, the premium/discount history, and the discount-history tracker. RVII inherits the exact same structure on day one.

Should You Wait for RVII or Buy RVI?

Honest answer: they're different enough that "which one" is the wrong frame — the real question is what exposure you actually want, and at what price relative to NAV.

RVI makes more sense if you:

  • Want exposure to named, knowable companies — you can read exactly what it holds and check the marks yourself
  • Prefer the cheaper fee load (~2.5% gross vs ~4.18% estimated for RVII)
  • Can buy much closer to NAV than at the May peak — RVI traded around $27.77 in late August against a $24.70 NAV, a ~12% premium versus 90%+ at the top
  • Accept that the remaining thesis shrinks as each holding goes public

RVII makes more sense if you:

  • Want genuinely early-stage venture exposure — the kind retail has never had a listed wrapper for
  • Believe in YC's aggregate pipeline more than in any single company
  • Accept a heavier fee drag, reported leverage, and marks that are estimates for years
  • Are disciplined enough to wait for the price to settle near NAV instead of chasing the open

And one rule applies to both: the premium you pay at entry matters more than the portfolio. RVI proved that NAV can rise while shareholders lose half their money, purely from premium compression. If RVII opens hot, the RVI chart above is what the other side of that trade looks like. Our five-question premium framework was written for RVI, but every question transfers directly to RVII — as does the step-by-step buying mechanics guide and the closed-end fund tax treatment.

The Complete RVI & RVII Coverage Library

We've tracked the Robinhood Ventures funds since Fund I listed. Everything below is kept current:

RVII is the broader, earlier, more expensive sequel to a fund whose defining event was a premium that appeared and vanished inside five months.

The confirmed facts fit in one table. The undisclosed ones — NAV, holdings, distributions — are what will actually determine whether $25 is a fair price. We'll update this page as each one lands.

This is a living page — last updated September 2, 2026, three weeks into RVII's NYSE trading. Track Fund I's NAV and premium on the Robinhood RVI Fund dashboard, and follow ongoing coverage on Value Add Pulse. Originally covered in the Trace Cohen newsletter.

Get VC data most people never see

— 100% free

Weekly benchmarks, valuations, and fund data. Join 5,000+ investors. No spam.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does RVII launch?

RVII is expected to begin trading on the NYSE on August 13, 2026 at an expected IPO price of $25 per share, per Robinhood's August 3 announcement. The share-request window for Robinhood customers and TradePMR Fusion advisers closed August 12. After the listing, anyone can buy RVII shares through any brokerage that trades NYSE-listed securities — no Robinhood account or accreditation required.

What will RVII hold?

RVII holds 80 early-stage private companies, all connected to Y Combinator — current batch participants, YC alumni companies, or startups founded by YC alumni. Per the fund's filing, 78 of the 80 sit at a near-equal ~1.12% weight; the only overweight is Tasklet (cloud agent OS) at 4.50%, and the only underweight is Luel at 0.45%, with 7.39% in cash. Notable names include Apollo Atomics (compact nuclear reactors), CellType (AI drug discovery), Tenet Industries (strike drones), and Klaimee (insurance for AI agents). We break down all 80 companies with descriptions on our interactive RVII dashboard at /robinhood-ventures-fund-2.

How is RVII different from RVI?

RVI is a concentrated late-stage bet — as of the June 30, 2026 disclosure (still the most recent available) its largest named positions are Databricks (12.71%), OpenAI (11.00%) and Stripe (4.33%), with 31.77% in cash. Both top names have since repriced: Databricks closed a $5B round at a $190B valuation on August 13, and OpenAI's private valuation moved to $852B after an August 2026 tender offer — neither change is reflected in RVI's disclosed weights yet, since no newer NPORT filing has published. RVII is the opposite of RVI's concentration: breadth over 80 much earlier-stage YC-linked companies, none of which is likely to dominate the portfolio the way SpaceX once did for RVI. RVII also carries a heavier expense load (~4.18% estimated total vs ~2.5% gross for RVI) and reportedly uses leverage, which RVI's structure did not emphasize.

What is RVII's ticker and exchange?

RVII trades under the ticker symbol RVII on the New York Stock Exchange — the same exchange as RVI. It's a closed-end business development company regulated under the Investment Company Act of 1940, not an ETF, which means a fixed share count and no mechanism forcing the market price to track NAV.

What are RVII's fees?

RVII charges a 2.00% annual base management fee on net assets plus a 20% incentive fee on realized capital gains — a hedge-fund-style 2-and-20 structure. Combined with fund operating expenses, total annual expenses are estimated at 4.18% per TechTimes' review of the registration statement. That's roughly double RVI's blended cost and orders of magnitude above a passive index fund.

Will RVII trade at a premium to NAV like RVI did?

So far, no — RVII opened its first session at $22.50, a discount to its $25 IPO price, and closed its second day at $24.45, the opposite of RVI's early premium spike. RVII's NAV still hasn't been disclosed, so the discount can't be measured precisely yet, but the direction is clear: buyers are not chasing this listing the way they chased RVI in March. RVII's YC-linked portfolio stays private longer than RVI's marquee names did, which could still support a premium once NAV is known — but three weeks in, RVII has traded like a standard closed-end fund from day one rather than a scarcity play.

Companies & investors in this article

Explore 45+ free VC tools, dashboards, and recommended startup software.

Get VC data most people never see

Weekly benchmarks & analysis. Join 5,000+ investors.